Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Posted in Diocese, Saints Mariam and Marie Alphonsine, Spiritual Life

Two Holy Land Nuns to be canonized

Two Holy Land Nuns to be canonized

Canonisation-article-300x185ROME – The French i.Media agency specializing in Vatican current affairs, has published a wire announcing that Pope Francis has formally agreed to the canonization of three nuns, of whom two come from the Holy Land, the Blessed Marie-Alphonsine and Blessed Mary of Jesus Crucified. It is a feast for the diocese, and especially for the Carmel of Bethlehem and the Sisters of the Rosary. The canonizations could take place as early as 2015.

Two of the religious of the Holy Land and a French religious will soon be canonized. During an audience granted to Cardinal Angelo Amato, prefect of the Congregation for the Causes of Saints, December 6, 2014, Pope Francis authorized the promulgation of the decree recognizing miracles attributed to Mariam Bawardi, Marie-Alphonsine Ghattas and Jeanne Emilie de Villeneuve. The Pope also authorized the recognition of “heroic virtues” of five servants of God, three nuns and two mothers.

The canonization of Blessed Mariam of Jesus Crucified Bawardi (1846-1878) and Blessed Marie-Alphonsine Ghattas, two nuns of the Holy Land, could be celebrated in 2015. Mariam Bawardi (1846-1878) was born in the village of Ibillin, Galilee. She is the founder of the Carmel of Bethlehem. During her life, she received the grace of the stigmata. A mystic, she also had many dreams in which she received communications from Jesus.

Marie Alphonsine Danil Ghattas (1843-1927), in turn, was born in Jerusalem. She is co-founder of the Congregation of the Sisters of the Rosary dedicated to pastoral work and, later, to help the elderly and young children, to serve the poor, but also to fight against moral poverty.

The French nun Jeanne Emilie de Villeneuve (1811-1854) will also soon be canonized. She founded in 1836 the Congregation of Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception of Castres. This congregation currently has about 700 religious and works in 16 countries, where it has ample social activity with fifty colleges in which are enrolled each year about 35,000 young people.

The Pope also validated the publication of decrees concerning the “heroic virtues” of five other women. The Church will consequently recognize a required miracle that allows the beatification of three nuns and two lay persons: The Italian Sr. Carmela di Gesù (1858-1948), formerly Francesca Prestigiacomo, founder of the Institute of the Sisters of the Sacred heart of incarnate Word; the Spanish Sr. María Seiquer Gayá (1891-1975), founder of the Apostolic Sisters of Christ crucified; the Czech Sr. Vojtěcha Hasmandova (1914-1988), superior general of the Congregation of the Sisters of Charity of St. Charles Borromeo; the Spanish lay woman and mother, Práxedes Fernández (1886-1936), a member of the Third Order Dominicans; and finally the laywoman and mother of an Italian family, Elisabetta Tasca (1899-1978).

Source: i.Média: CL/AMI