Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Posted in Dialogue, Synod

Composition of the Commission for the Message of the Synod


The names of the 12 members of the Commission for the Message are listed below. The  President, Vice President and two members were nominated by the Holy Father, eight were elected by the assembly during the Third Congregation.



– H. Exc. Mons. Cyrille Salim BUSTROS, S.M.S.P., Archbishop of Newton of the Greek-Melkites (UNITED STATES OF AMERICA)

Vice President

– H. Exc. Mons. William Hanna SHOMALI, Titular Bishop of Lydda, Auxiliary Bishop of Jerusalem of the Latins (JERUSALEM)


– H. B. Michel SABBAH, Patriarch Emeritus of Jerusalem of the Latins (JERUSALEM)

– H. Exc. Mons. Boutros MARAYATI, Archbishop of Alep of the Armenians (SYRIA)

– H. Exc. Mons. Basile Georges CASMOUSSA, Archbishop of Mossul of the Syrians (IRAQ)

– H. Exc. Mons. Louis SAKO, Archbishop of Kerkuk of the Chaldeans, Patriarchal Administrator of Sulaimaniya of the Chaldeans (IRAQ)

– H. Exc. Mons. Ruggero FRANCESCHINI, O.F.M. Cap., Archbishop of Izmir, Apostolic Administrator of the Apostolic Vicariate of Anatolia, President of the Episcopal Conference of Turkey (TURKEY)

– H. Exc. Mons. Elias CHACOUR, Archbishop of Akka, Acre, Ptolemaid of the Greek- Melkites (ISRAEL)

– H. Exc. Mons. Béchara RAÏ, O.M.M., Bishop of Jbeil of the Maronites (LEBANON)

– H. Exc. Mons. Antonios Aziz MINA, Bishop of Guizeh of the Copts (ARAB REPUBLIC OF EGYPT)

– H. Exc. Mons. Georges SAAD ABI YOUNES, O.L.M., Bishop of Nuestra Señora de los Mártires del Líbano en México of the Maronites (MEXICO)

– Rev. F. Khalil ALWAN, M.L.M., Secretary General of the “Conseil des Patriarches Catholiques d’Orient” (C.P.C.O.) (LEBANON)